The Bear's Paw

Warm welcome, kind and considerate staff, beautifully appointed bedrooms with lovely linens, soft pillows and premium toiletries, great supper and really delicious breakfast – cooked to order with fresh juice and excellent coffee – an indulgent overnight treat.

TripAdvisor Review from Holly M, September 2017

 

Classy. Top quality. Amazing staff who make a great place even better. Great food. Rare beers. The chef is a tremendous cook. Breakfasts excellent. Quality local ingredients. Highly recommended. Will go back.
TripAdvisor Review from Sarah L, August 2017

 

The food was excellent, with a good choice on the menu. Really nice location and great atmosphere – beautiful country pub.
TripAdvisor Review from MD P, August 2017

 

Arrived without a booking. Warmly welcomed. Excellent professional service and quality of food. Was just passing through or would have had a return visit.
TripAdvisor Review from Anya O, July 2017

 

Booked in at short notice for a mid-week birthday lunch and we were not disappointed ! Lovely range of food, all beautifully cooked and prepared. Excellent range of drinks and very good attentive service from the staff. Will definitely be returning in the near future.
TripAdvisor Review from Gary C, July 2017

 

Warm and genuine greeting followed by excellent service. The food was absolutely delicious and the presentation perfect. Only a visit to this fabulous hotel can express what a great find we made.
TripAdvisor Review from Jill A, June 2017

 

Regular visitor usually no booking required recommend steak & ale pie/ steak/prawn pil pil never disappoints.
TripAdvisor Review from Lennon I, June 2017

 

A huge thank you to everyone at The Bear’s Paw who helped us celebrate my Mum’s 60th birthday. Alys and the team looked after us all so well, especially my Mum who even got a birthday card and a glass of fizz. The staff were extremely helpful, polite and patient as we had a large group of around 30. And also very understanding about all the confetti spread everywhere from the balloons!
TripAdvisor Review from Indi C, May 2017

 

Been here a couple of times now and both times it’s been lovely ! Fantastic food and excellent service 👍 go and check it out believe me you won’t regret it.
TripAdvisor Review from Jue T, May 2017

 

To all the staff at The Bears Paw, me and my partner stayed this weekend (1st/2nd April). It was our first visit, after being recommended to us by my dad, who is also a big fan of the Pheasant Inn too… we had a phenomenal time, and we will certainly be returning, our room was stunning, clean and fresh, and both our evening meal and breakfast were out of this world. All staff were incredibly attentive, and on hand for any queries! We look forward to returning to you soon! We will also be recommending you to friends!
Customer Email from Victoria J, April 2017

 

This was a lucky find the building has been tastefully restored as have the bedrooms that were extremely appointed and comfortable. We chose to dine in the restaurant, luckily they booked us a table on spec since it was jam packed, and we found the menu to be extensive and appealing. We were not disappointed with our choices and retired to bed sated and happy. The staff to customer ratio was higher than in many places we have visited and they have obviously been well trained and their cheerful demeanor definitely added to our enjoyment of the evening.
TripAdvisor Review from Stewart H, April 2017

 

We would be grateful if our sincere thanks could be passed to all concerned with making our anniversary celebration, held on 4th March, such a success. The staff were extremely professional and helpful, and the food was delicious. All our guests were delighted with their choices.
David. P, March 2017

 

On arrival we where first met by a friendly young gentleman who showed us to a lovely table. Our drinks order was taken and arrived within minutes. We then ordered our meals which where absolutely delicious! I had a steak ciabatta which was cooked well and the meat was really good quality! Everybody thoroughly enjoyed their food. Non of us had any dessert because we where all too full (the extra portion of chips pushed us over the edge!) so we all had coffees and enjoyed the atmosphere of the beautiful pub!
TripAdvisor Review, March 2017

 

The food, ambience and service was outstanding! – it’s always a good sign when you are asked how you like your roast beef cooked, and it was a lovely cut of meat. Together with perfectly cooked accompaniments and a good quality wine and beer selection. We will make a bee-line to return here in passing again.
TripAdvisor Review, February 2017

 

A last minute booking to break up our journey to Scotland from Northampton. We booked a Superior room (stunning) and the food at dinner & breakfast was first class. A terrific and busy inn with first rate service.
TripAdvisor Review, February 2017

 

We visited the Bears Paw for a birthday meal the food was delicious I had the Thai curry it was lovely! The restaurant was so cozy and very relaxed! I wanted to surprise my husband for his 30th birthday with a trip away the Manager Mike was so helpful and organised all of his staff to come out singing happy birthday when we were having deserts and even wrote a little birthday message on his desert with a massive sparkler! Made it extra special!
TripAdvisor Review, January 2017

 

We were looking for a dog-friendly hotel close to the M6 to break our trip from the South Coast of England to Scotland. We were extremely pleased with the hotel and restaurant. The room was excellent, the bed comfortable and everything was spotless. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and had a lovely meal and good wine with excellent service. Breakfast was also good. The staff could not do enough for us throughout our stay. However the big thing we found was that the hotel is not only dog-friendly – the staff are positively dog obsessed!
TripAdvisor Review, January 2017

 

We visit the Bear’s Paw at least twice a year and I always look forward to it – such a lovely welcoming pub and at Christmas, the decorations are beautiful! The food here is excellent, never had a bad meal here and the staff are so welcoming and friendly. The Christmas special of 2 or 3 courses was so good this year!! I would recommend anyone to visit here if they are in the area, you will not be disappointed. Thank you to all at the Bear’s Paw for continued excellence, Merry Christmas!
TripAdvisor Review, December 2016

 

The Bear’s Paw is great for a couple of drinks or for a lovely meal. We love going as a couple, or with our little boy. We often take our friends an family and they are never disappointed. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, they always have a great knowledge of the menu.
TripAdvisor Review, December 2016

 

We stayed overnight at this hotel and were delighted with the rooms, our was room 4. I was there with my wife daughter and son in law, what a fabulous meal we had. I have eaten in some top restaurants over the years but this one would take some beating, the food was top class. Our waitress ‘Charlie’ and her twin sister were a delight and she cared for us very well indeed. A full five stars from me for the entire experience.
TripAdvisor Review, December 2016

 

Went to the Bears Paw this afternoon for cheese boards, mince pies, teas, and coffees with friends. This is a really nice country pub/hotel, in an area with walks both short and long around the locality.
TripAdvisor Review, December 2016

 

Food and service here are always excellent. Worth it every time! In the past we also had the pleasure of having a 2 night stay at The Bears Paw. We found the housekeeper was lovely and happy to talk to our very chatty 3yr old. Our room was more than big enough for our family and breakfast was perfect.
TripAdvisor Review, December 2016

 

First time for us here. Wanted somewhere handy and it’s only an hour from our home. Lovely location, not far from the M6 and Middlewich but nicely “out in the country”. Staff were are lovely, room huge and amazing and food very good. Nice selection of cask ales which is important to us. I have the say that the fish and chips I had for dinner were the best restaurant fish and chips I’ve ever had and I’ve had a few :-)
TripAdvisor Review, November 2016

 

There was a good choice of dishes some presented in the “fine dining” style such as the venison and hake dishes, other dishes were more in the classic pub style such as the steak pie, which was laden with meat, and chips – we were all very satisfied with the food we had – well cooked and presented. There were some very nice touches such as the luscious garlic and parsley bread – not the usual dry baguette with a smear of butter that is so often served.  The staff were attentive, the venue was beautifully decorated and was clearly run by someone who loves what they are doing.
TripAdvisor Review, November 2016

 

This is mine And hubby’s 2nd stay here. Mum and dads anniversary weekend last year…mum’s birthday this year. What an absolute gem of a place. Booked in Saturday afternoon. Lovely clean shiny room and bathroom. Unfortunately the boiler broke down and we had no hot water for showers etc…the staff were fantastic. Couldn’t have looked after us better. Water back on for Saturday tea time and a change of room due to the boiler noises keeping us up Saturday night. Evening meal stunning. The treacle tart indescribably amazing. Good quiet nights sleep. And breakfast. My favourite meal of the day. The meal for the birthday tea later again was top notch. Fresh hot tasty proper food. Every single staff member in this place deserve a round of applause seriously. We were looked after. Nothing was too much trouble. We shall be back. Thank you bears paw :)
TripAdvisor Review, November 2016